About
Boston Public Library Databases
Using the PAC, Overdrive, etcLibrary Of Congress Subject Headings-Locating BooksRecent Acquisitions
ALL Online Reference
Animal ScienceArtBiology & ChemistyBusiness & ManagementEarly ChildhoodEnglishEnvironmentalEmotional IntelligenceHistoryMathMusicNursingPTPsychology, Social Work & SociologyReligion
WorldCat - Search Worldwide CatalogsInterLibrary Loan
eBooks - Ebrarye-books - Free internet e-books
Government Resources
This is the "Animal Science" page of the "Home Page" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Home Page  

Welcome to The Jonathan Edwards Library LibGuide Home Page. Click the blue tabs below for main pages in that category. Subcategories may be found below each tab and clicked and searched as well.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://berkshirecc.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Animal Science Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Animal Behavior

Animal Behavior - Dogs
Site created by the ASPCA

Animal Behavior - Dogs
Site created by Animal Planet.  Includes numerous video clips.

Animal Behavior - Cats
Site created by Animal Planet.  Includes numerous video clips.

Avian Visual Cognition
Edited and Published by Dr. Robert G. Cook, Department of Psychology Tufts University

Center for the Integrative Study of Animal Behavior
The web site for this University of Indiana's Center which conducts integrative studies across the fields of Biology, Psychology, Neural Science, Anthropology and other disciplines. Included here are links for teaching.

Chimpanzee Cultures
A database of chimpanzee cultural behaviours.

Dolphin Institute
Dedicated to conservation of and education about dolphins and whales. Research projects include dolphin echolocation, language capabilities, and memory and humpback whale socialization and migration.

Fauna Communications Institute
Institute researches bioacoustics and animal communication, especially of endangered species.

Honey Bee Research at the University of Illinois
Research in Gene E. Robinson's lab studying the mechanisms of social behavior in honey bees.

Organzation of Biological Field Stations
This organization is concerned with field facilities for biological research and education, primarily in North America and Central America. This site provides links to OBFS member stations. Individual stations include descriptions of courses offered, summer internships, teacher education, etc.

Primate Behavior
Excellent resource with many links maintained by the University of Wisconsin Primate Resource Center. Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects including social behavior, feeding, predation and learning.

 

Alternative Therapies

The Academy of Veterinary Homeopathy
Membership information.

Acupuncture for Animals more Popular
February 2013 article from the Washington Post.

Alternative Care in Equine Medicine
Another brief page discussing various alternative medicine approaches.


AAHA Guidlelines for Care for Senior Dogs and Cts
Guidelines on caring for older animals from the Standards of Veterinary Excellence.


Animal Acupuncture: More Animals Get The Point
Article on acupuncture for animals from the National Geographic Magaizine.


Collected Articles from Spirits in Transition
Links to articles and papers on end of life care of animals.  This site is maintained by Ella Bittel, Holistic Veterinarian  and Bunny Morrow.

 
Deciding When A Pet Has Suffered Enough
An article from the NY Times on end of life care for pets.

End of Life Care For Dogs 
Published by the VCA Hospitals representing over 700 animal hospitals in 42 states across the nation and 4 Canadian provinces. 

Healing Touch For Animals
This article was originally published in Massage & Bodywork magazine, August/September 2005. in Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals. All rights reserved.


 Holistic Dog Links
Useful links for canine care.  
 

Integrative Treatment of Dogs with Intervertebral Disc Disease
Article on various approaches to alternative medical treatment by R.M. Clemmons, DVM, PhD Associate Professor of Neurology & Neurosurgery Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences.  

IAAHP
The International Association for Animal Hospice and Palliative Care is dedicated to promoting knowledge of, and developing guidelines for, comfort-oriented care to companion animals as they approach the end of life.

International Veterinary Acupuncture Society
Information about this organization, directoryof acupuncture professionals and related links.


Massage Therapy For Animals 
Originally published in Massage & Bodywork Magazine in 2009. 

Medicinal Plants for Livestock
Cornell University website on benefits and toxicities of medicinal plants for livestock.


Natural Holistic Health Care
This site provides details on holistic care for animals including Homeopathy, Acupuncture, Chiropractic, Nutrition, Phone Consultations, Referrals and related information. Site created by Dr Larry Bernstein., a holistic veterinarian.

 

Palliative Care for Pets
Article by Dr. Jessica Pierce, a Bioethicist, on palliative care for pets.

 

The "Paws"-itive Effects of Animal Acupuncture
An article on acupuncture for animals in the November 2004 issue of Acupuncture Today.

Pet Acupuncture: Treating Animals With Human Therapies - ABC News 
Podcast from a February 2013 newscast from ABC News on acupuncture for pets. 

The Veterinary Acupuncture Page
The "Veterinary Acupuncture Page" , aims to provide educational material on Acupuncture to Veterinarians , who want to learn this therapeutic method

BCC - Karen Carreras-Hubbard

Profile Image
Jonathan Edwards Library
Contact Info
Karen Carreras-Hubbard, MA, MLS
Coordinator of Library Services
khubbard@berkshirecc.edu
413-236-2153
Chat via Chat Box or text us at 413-650-1275
Send Email
 

Genetics and Breeds

Breeds of Livestocks
Presented by the Department of Animal Science at Oklahoma State University, this site is intended as an educational and informational resource on breeds of livestock throughout the world.

National Animal Genome Database 
Genome maps of cattle, swine, and sheep,  from Iowa State University

Sheep at Cornell
Website for Cornell University's sheep Program. The Cornell Sheep Program evaluates and disseminates information on management, nutrition, health, selection, and marketing strategies for highly productive sheep systems.

Animal Science at KSU
Articles from the Kansas State University.

University of Massachusetts - Veternary and Animal Sciences
UMASS offers Undergraduate study with options in Animal Sciences, Pre-veterinary, Biotechnology, Animal Industries. Find out about these programs and more at this site.

USDA
Web site for the United States Department of Agriculture.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip