Skip to main content
site header image

Information Literacy: Next stop - Reference!

An Information Literate Student is a Successful Student

Online Reference Databases

Using Reference and the Internet When Beginning Research

Reference databases are a great resources to help you familiarize yourself with your topic.  Reference databases are listed in the left-hand column. 

  • Encyclopedias - We have both general and specialized encyclopedias covering topics as diverse as food and culture to women's issues to Middle East wars and more!
  • Dictionaries - We're all familiar with general dictionaries that give us definitions of everyday and not-so-everyday speech, and we have plenty of those. But we also have many specialized dictionaries. We have dictionaries that define terms specific to art, music, the sciences and more.
  • Primary Sources - Our reference collection includes primary source materials such as government documents, speeches and legislations. 
  • Additional Sources - Almanacs, handbooks and guides, for example.

You can even use Wikipedia, if you search this tool wisely!

BCC Specific Tutorial - Using Database Concept Maps To Find And Narrow Topics   NEW!

Berkshire Community College's Information Literacy Videos and Interactive Tutorials

Access from off-campus is only possible with authentication.

Subject Guide

Karen Carreras-Hubbard's picture
Karen Carreras-Hubbard
null
Contact:
Jonathan Edwards Library, Berkshire Community College
1350 West Street
Pittsfield, MA 01085
413-236-2153