Health Website Evaluation
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016 URL: http://berkshirecc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=355522 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Health News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Welcome

Welcome To The Comprehensive Guide To Nursing.

NEW: MEDCOM Nursing Videosaccess to nursing streaming videos
The Medcom collection of nursing videos is available to BCC students, faculty and staff from off-campus via the same username and password you use to access our databases. 

OTHER NURSING SUBJECT GUIDE RESOURCES:
Use the tabs and drop down links above to locate articles, books, websites and other resources online. Evidence Based Nursing resources are included in their own tab above.   

PRIMARY LITERATURE SEARCHES - Types of Studies

Type of Intervention

Type of Resources/Studies

Treatments, Therapies and Procedures    Randomized Control Trial & Double Blind Tests
Diagnostic Tests, Diagnosis Controlled Tests
Information on Disease, Prognosis Cohort Studies, Case Studies
Cause of Diseases, Etiology Cohort Studies, Risk Studies
Immunization, Disease Prevention Randomized Control Trial, Cohort Studies
Quality Control, Patient Concerns Practice Guidelines, Randomized Control Trial

 

Primary Source material that is used in Evidence Based Research includes Studies, Trials and Tests.  Use Databases such as Cinahl and Medline to find abstracts of articles.  Use Ovid and other medical databases provided by BCC for full text.  See Database links on left for listing.

Studies maybe Observational and include various types of publications including:

Single Case Reports which are "Clinical presentations that may be followed by evaluative studies that eventually lead to a diagnosis."

Case Control Studies, which are "Studies which start with the identification of persons with a disease of interest and a control (comparison, referent) group without the disease. The relationship of an attribute to the disease is examined by comparing diseased and non-diseased persons with regard to the frequency or levels of the attribute in each group."

Case Series which describe groups of patients with a particular disease, or condition

Cohort Studies  "in which subsets of a defined population are identified. These groups may or may not be exposed to factors hypothesized to influence the probability of the occurrence of a particular disease or other outcome. Cohorts are defined populations which, as a whole, are followed in an attempt to determine distinguishing subgroup characteristics" 

Studies may also be Evaluative or Interventional, including:

Randomised Control Trials - Which are works "consisting of a clinical trial that involves at least one test treatment and one control treatment, concurrent enrollment and follow-up of the test- and control-treated groups, and in which the treatments to be administered are selected by a random process, such as the use of a random-numbers table."

Definitions from MeSh Headings, Medline. 

      

    BCC - Karen Carreras-Hubbard

    Profile Image
    Jonathan Edwards Library
    Contact Info
    Karen Carreras-Hubbard, MA, MLS
    Coordinator of Library Services
    khubbard@berkshirecc.edu
    413-236-2153
    Chat via Chat Box or text us at 413-650-1275
    Send Email

    Google Scholar Search

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip