This is the "Home" page of the "ebooks - On the Internet " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ebooks - On the Internet  

A collection of free access ebooks available on the internet.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2013 URL: http://berkshirecc.libguides.com/freebooks Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ebook databases from our collection

Ebrary -

Ebrary is a collection of over 80,000 thousand online full text books covering a variety of subject areas. You can create an account in ebrary, save books to your Bookshelf, highlight and add notes to the text, print and copy selections of text, and using InfoTools, cross search the internet for additional information. There is no timelimit for checkouts.  Off-site access to Ebrary is limited to current BCC students, faculty and staff.

 EbscoHost ebooks (formerly Net Library) -

NetLibrary is an eBook Collection using the EBSCOhost platform and template. It contains thousands of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses. Books may be checked out for several weeks. Off-site access to EbscoHosts ebooks is limited to current BCC students, faculty and staff.

OverDrive -

Overdrive is an online ebook delivery system brought to you by the C/W Mars consortium. Download free software in order to load books on your computer, Kindle, Nook, or mobile device. Books may be checked out for several weeks. There may be a waiting period to borrow certain titles.  All holders of a BCC library card or OneCard, including community borrowers may access OverDrive.

Brochure - Using eBooks 

 

Quick Access

Quick Access Links


Go To Our Catalog

Go to The  Entire C/WMARS Catalog 

Virtual CatalogSearch libraries in eastern Massachusetts, and more academic Libraries.

Go To WorldCat - Identify where books are located throughout the USA for InterLibrary Loans.

Go to the BCC Library Page

 

 

 

Public Domain ebook sites

Instructional Overview for Using eBooks - Brochure - Using eBooks

Public Domain Sites

Authentication not necessary for off-campus access.

Classic Texts (Literature, Philosophy, etc.)

Law, Diplomacy, and Political Science Texts

History Texts

General Texts

Religion and Philosophy Texts

Science and Math Texts

Sheet Music

  Merlot & Merlot Repository

MERLOT is a platform providing resources such
as learning materials, personal collections
and exercises designed primarily for faculty,
staff and students of higher education. While
authentication is not necessary, not all
materials in MERLOT are free.

 

Classic Texts

 

Bartleby.com - Great Books Online
http://www.bartleby.com/
A searchable database of classic texts in the public domain. Includes reference works, fiction, non-fiction, and verse.

Carrie: A Full Text Electronic Library
http://www.ku.edu/carrie/
Searchable site of thousands of full-text documents, including works of classic literature, essays and historic documents. Use Eurodocs to find full text of major European documents from the dark ages until the present. Use AmDocs for full text of primary source material for the Americas. Carrie is the first full text on line electronic library and was created by Prof. Lynn H Nelson at the University of Kansas.

Celt: Online Resource for Irish Literature
http://www.ucc.ie/celt/
A searchable database of early Irish literature in translation. "CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing project. It brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide. It has a searchable online textbase consisting of 13.9 million words, in over 1120 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts."

Digital Text Project
http://www.ilt.columbia.edu/publications/digitext.html
Includes full text of many classic works of philosophy.

European Digital Library
http://search.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/en/index.html
The European Digital Library searches the content of Libraries throughout Europe.

The Online Books Page
http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/archives.html
Links to other sites providing online texts.

Palimpset
http://www2.hn.psu.edu/faculty/jmanis/jimspdf.htm
Full text to many classic works in the public domain, this site is maintained by Penn State.

Perseus Project
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/
The primary goal of this database of full-text materials "is to bring a wide range of source materials to as large an audience as possible." Created by Tufts University, every possible resources, from Papyri to Renaissance works to Civil War Documents and even an article entitled Disambiguating Geographic Names in a Historical Digital LibraryElectronic is included here.

Philosophy Collection
http://philosophy.eserver.org/
This collection contains canonical philosophic texts and links to scholarly philosophic organizations. Here you will find out-of-copyright canonical texts including works of Aristotle, Berkeley, Descartes, Hume, Kant, Leibnitz, Nietzsche, Pascal, Plato and many more.

Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/
Created by Michael Hart in 1971, Project Gutenberg was the first single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks in the world. "Today you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device." All works have been in print and are sources appropriate for research and academic work. Ebooks use such basic formats as ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text and can be freely downloaded.

Shakespeare Sources
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/sources.htm
Primary Historical Documents from Brigham Young University.

University of Michigan Digital Collection
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/g/genpub/
Over 30,000 full text works scanned from the University of Michigan's collection. Search using Boolean, simple and proximity searches.

University of Virginia American Hypertext Project
http://xroads.virginia.edu/~HYPER/hypertex.html
American classics converted to electronic format. Scores of works available, including those by Henry Adams, W.E.B. Dubois, Lewis and Clark, Thomas Jefferson, William Prescott, De Tocqueville Fredrick Jackson Turner and WPA documents.

Law, Diplomacy, and Political Science Texts

Avalon Project at Yale
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
Full text documents in law, history and diplomacy from 4,000 BCE through the present. Also includes links to Project Diana, housing archival materials on Human Rights. This is a very useful site created and maintained by the Law School at Yale.

Federalist Papers - Hypertext
http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/federalist/
A hypertext, searchable on-line version of the Federalist Papers.

Massachusetts General Laws
http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/?refer=massgov
Searchable database version of the many volume set of General Laws, updated regularly.

The Online Library
http://oll.libertyfund.org/index.php?option=com_staticxt&Itemid=28
The Online Library of Liberty is divided into two sections, the Library and the Forum. The Online Library contains electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty. "These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace." This site is funded by the Liberty Fund, Inc. a private, educational foundation established to encourage the study of the ideal of a society of free and responsible individuals

The United States Constitution and Amendments
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution.html
Includes the original document and link (http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution_amendments_11-27.html ) to amendments up to the present. This is the official site, maintained by the National Archives.

History Texts

AMDOCS- Documents for the Study of American History
http://www.ku.edu/carrie/docs/amdocs_index.html
University of Kansas site featuring full text of many important documents of importance to the history of the United States.

Avalon Project at Yale
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp
Full text documents in law, history and diplomacy from 4,000 BCE through the present. Also includes links to Project Diana, housing archival materials on Human Rights. This is a very useful site created and maintained by the Law School at Yale.

Digital Library of the Caribbean
http://www.dloc.com/
Searchable site of full text documents from throughout the Caribbean. The Digital Library of the Caribbean was established by a committee of librarians, scholars, and archivists at a meeting held in San Juan, Puerto Rico on July 17, 2004. The goal of dLOC is to build a cooperative digital library among partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean, thus providing scholars, students, and citizens around the world with open on-line access to Caribbean cultural, historical and scientific materials.

EuroDocs
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page
Links to sites with primary historical documents for European countries and regions. Includes prehistoric and ancient Europe through the twentieth century.

European Digital Library
http://search.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/en/index.html
The European Digital Library searches the content of Libraries throughout Europe.

European History Primary Sources
"The purpose of EHPS is to provide historians with an easily searchable index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitised primary sources, invented archives and born digital sources relating to the history of Europe".

Historical Text Archive
http://historicalaltextarchive.com
Comprehensive directory of historic resources created by Professor Donald Mabry at Mississippi State University, this site provides full text articles, books, essays, documents, and historic photos. This site was founded in 1990 and is one of the oldest history sites on the internet

In the First Person
http://www.inthefirstperson.com/firp/index.shtml
In the First Person provides in-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world. This database is provided by Alexander Street Press.

Internet Archive
http://www.archive.org/details/texts
The mission of the Internet Archive is to offer permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Download free books and texts including a wide range of academic books, fiction, non-fiction, popular books, and historical documents.

Internet History Sourcebooks Projects - Fordham University
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.html
Comprehensive site for modern history with links to ancient and medieval history pages created and maintained at Fordham University. Thousands of links and lots of scholarly information, including full text documents.

The Online Library
http://oll.libertyfund.org/index.php?option=com_staticxt&Itemid=28
The Online Library of Liberty is divided into two sections, the Library and the Forum. The Online Library contains electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty. "These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace." This site is funded by the Liberty Fund, Inc. a private, educational foundation established to encourage the study of the ideal of a society of free and responsible individuals

General Texts

CIA Factbook
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook
This site offers country profiles updated yearly.

The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia
http://www.libs.uga.edu/darchive/hargrett/maps/maps.html
Online collection of more than 800 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century.

Historic USGS Maps of New England & New York
http://docs.unh.edu/nhtopos/nhtopos.htm
The University of New Hampshire's Dimond Library's Government Documents Department created this online collection of over 1100 USGS topographic maps which offer complete geographical coverage of New England from the 1890s to 1950s. The collection also includes 222 maps of New York state.

 

U.S. Gazetteer
http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/gazetteer
Unfortunately, this map database is a little dated as it is based on the 1990 Census Lookup server. This gazetteer is used to identify places to view with the Tiger Map Server and obtain census datar. You can search by entering the name and state abbreviation (optional), or 5-digit zip code

Webster's Dictionary
http://www.merriam-webster.com/
Fully functional online dictionary.

World Factbook
http://www.bartleby.com/151/
Geographical handbook compiled by the U.S. Government, featuring full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks a variety of demographic data

Religion and Philosophy Texts

Asian Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/eastasia/eastasiasbook.html
Site featuring links to full text on a variety of East Asian religious traditions, including Buddhism.

Christian Ethereal Library -
http://www.ccel.org/
The Largest Collection of Christian Texts Online, Including Church Fathers. Provided by Calvin College

The Cyber Hymnal
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/
Over 1,000 hymns with sheet music, midi files, and sound files.

Hindu Source Book
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/india/indiasbook.html
Volumes of information, including full text of primary sources such as the Bhagavad-Gita. Information on the Vedic Age, Jainism, Buddhism in India, medieval India, Islam in India and more. Part of Fordham

Hyper-Text Qur'an - from the Internet Sacred Texts Archive
http://www.sacred-texts.com/isl/htq/index.htm
Online text of the Qur'an the primary sacred text of Islam

Internet Sacred Text Archive
http://www.sacred-texts.com/
" the largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet"

Jewish Virtual Library
http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/about/index.shtml
Here you will find the Tanakh, Torah and other sacred writings. A project of the Isralei-American Cooperative Enterprise whose mission is to To provide a vehicle for the research, study, discussion and exchange of views concerning nonmilitary cooperation (Shared Value Initiatives) between the peoples and governments of the United States and Israel.

The Koran
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/k/koran/
This is an electronic version of The Holy Qur'an, translated by M.H. Shakir and published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an, Inc., in 1983, and includes a search engine of words and phrases. This site is maintained by the the Humanities Text Initiative, Univ. of Michigan

Project Wittenburg
http://www.ctsfw.edu/etext/
A comprehensive archive of Lutheran texts.

Science and Math Texts

Highwire Full Text Science Resources
http://highwire.stanford.edu/lists/largest.dtl
Links to full text science materials. (Be aware that not all links are to sites providing free material.)

Mathematics - WWWVL Full Text Sources
http://www.math.fsu.edu/Virtual/index.php?f=10
Select full text resources organized by the math faculty at Florida State University.

Sheet Music

new! International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
http://imslp.org/
"The IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. For this purpose we have created a music library to provide music scores free of charge to anyone with internet access, with several other projects in planning. IMSLP is also entirely collaborative, and all contributions are greatly welcome"

America Singing: Nineteenth Century Song Sheets (Library of Congress)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amsshtml/
The Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress holds 4291 song sheets, many of which are included here. This collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s.

The Cyber Hymnal
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/
Over 1,000 hymns with sheet music, midi files, and sound files.

Free Song Sheet Scores
http://www.free-scores.com/index_uk.php3
"Our project is to distribute for free the most important choice of free scores from public domain and from original composers with restricted licences. We feature 22082 piece of music to download in PDF format".

Historic American Sheet Music
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/sheetmusic/

The Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
University's massive site.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip