This is the "Home" page of the "Online Reference " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Reference  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014 URL: http://berkshirecc.libguides.com/onlinereference Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

 

Online Reference Databases - Complete List

Online Reference Databases

These are reference resources that you can access from home.

Biography In Context - Thomson Gale - Integrates Thomson Gale biographies from a variety of reference print sources with full-text magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text.

Britannica Online Academic Edition - Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, plus Merriam Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus; Gateway to Classics featuring 225 full-text works and news sources including the CBS and the BBC World News.

Britannica's Image Quest - Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world, including DK images, the National Portrait Gallery, the Natural History Musem, Oxford Scientific, Getty Images, the British Library and many more.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select - Thomson Gale - An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Note: The Jonathan Edwards Library has related titles in hard copy in the Reference room. These include, Contemporary Authors, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.

Credo Reference - Credo Reference (formerly Xrefer) is the world's largest online reference database service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles covering all subject areas with over 3 million entries from 57 highly-respected publishers all integrated in a robust search engine. Credo Reference has many new unique interactive features such as dynamic table functionality for world state, and county statistics, an interactive world atlas, flash animations, videos, poetry/literature readings, and a data visualization tool called the concept map. Credo Reference also features over 175,000 images, over 200,000 audio pronunciations, and a citation formatter in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats.

Digital Treasures - A digital library collection of agricultural and industrial cultural history of Central and Western Massachusett.

FindLaw Web site - FindLaw is the highest-trafficked legal Web site, providing the most comprehensive set of legal resources on the Internet for legal professionals, corporate counsel, law students, businesses, and consumers.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Thomson Gale - Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, this database features continuously updated viewpoint essays, topic overviews, reference resources, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale U.S. History In Context - Thomson Gale .S. History in Context merges Gale's authoritative reference content with primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience, as well as full-text magazines, academic journals and news articles.

Gale World History In Context - World History in Context merges Gale's authoritative reference content with primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience, as well as full-text magazines, academic journals and news articles.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Thomson Gale - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

Grove Art Online - Oxford University Press - Grove Art Online contains the full-text of The Dictionary of Art — the landmark encyclopedia of world art. Offered here are over 1500 colour images and line drawings; links to the Art Resource searchable image database; and links to over 40,000 images on museum and gallery websites.

Literature Resource Center - Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Science Online - Facts on File - This full-text database offers a comprehensive general science resource by providing diagrams, definitions, biographies of key scientists, and a fully hyperlinked timeline. Also includes a database of science experiments submitted by teachers nationwide

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Karen Carreras-Hubbard
Contact Info
Karen Carreras-Hubbard MA, MLS
Coordinator of Library Services
Text Us At 413-650-1275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip