This is the "Home" page of the "Reference Shelf" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Shelf  

Reference resources in print and online.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2013 URL: http://berkshirecc.libguides.com/reference Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Reference Collection at the Jonathan Edwards Library

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

The Jonathan Edwards Library provides current BCC students, faculty and staff a growing number of Online Reference Databases.   As with many of our databases, authentication is necessary for off-site access, and is limited to current BCC students, faculty and staff. Click on the Online link above, or go to the Reference tab and click on the Online Reference sub-tab to access such online reference resources as Britannica, Grove Art,  Britannica Image Quest and Science Online, as well as the Credo and Gale Reference databases, which contain several hundred reference  resources.  Click here for the brochure on using Online Reference Databases.

PRINT REFERENCE RESOURCES

The Jonathan Edwards Library also houses an extensive print reference collection at the main campus.  Print Reference material does not circulate  and is accessible only when the Library is open Monday through Friday.

 

SUBJECT GUIDES

Subjects Guides provide ready reference resource including links to online reference, bibliographies of texts in our collection, links to primary sources and websites.  These guides are created by Library Staff, and are vetted for validity of information, educational content, scope and authority.  We are  currently creating new subject guides to specific subject areas, and are always updating these pages.

 

Selected Print Reference Works

Many of our print reference resources have been acquired for specific curriculum needs. Here are just a few examples of print reference books we have in our collection.

Alamanacs

The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2012, World Almanac Books, Ref AY 67.N7 W7 2012

Philosophy and Religion

Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Edition. Donald Borchart, Ed. Thomson Gale. 2006 Ref B 51 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition. Lindsay Jones, Ed. Thomson Gale. 2005 Ref BL 31 .46 2005

Encyclopedia of Buddhism. Edward A. Irons. Facts on File. 2008 Ref BQ 128 .E53 2008

History

Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia. John T. Koch. ABC Clio. 2006. Ref CB 06 .C45 2006

Battles That Changed History: An Encyclopedia of World Conflict. Spencer C. Tucker. 2011 Ref D 25 .A2 T83 2011

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Joseph R. Strayer, ed. 1982. Ref D 114 .D5 1982

Berkshire Community College

Profile Image
Jonathan Edwards Library/ Karen Carreras-Hubbard
Contact Info
Karen Carreras-Hubbard, MA, MLS
Coordinator of Library Services
khubbard@berkshirecc.edu
413-236-2153
Chat via Chat Box or text us at 413-650-1275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip