Skip to main content
site header image

Guide

.

Constitution Day Display - Books You Can Borrow Now

 

Constitution Day, September 17, 2020

Constitution Day, September 17, 2020

The Library Has A Display Up Now On The Lower Level Of The Library.  Check out the list to these books through our new HELM catalog system at: https://bkcc-catalog.helmlib.org/cgi-bin/koha/opac-shelves.pl?op=view&shelfnumber=504.  Special thanks to Reference Librarian Andrea Robare for her work creating this this display and bibliography.

 

Constitution Day Links from NewsBank

An entire page of current Constitution Day links from NewsBanks Special Reports service

Bibliography

Constitution Day Links

Informational Links to the United States Constitution.

Constitution Annotated - New    

Comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time.  This government site site has expanded its search capabilities.

The Constitution - Scanned Image of the Document
From the National Archives, this page provides a high resolution image file of the original document, as well as accompanying text files. The site also provides additional, useful informational links

Constitución de los Estados Unidos de América
A Spanish translation of the United States Constitution maintained as part of the Political Database of the Americas site at Georgetown University.

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention (1774 -1789)
From the Library of Congress, "the Continental Congress Broadside Collection (253 titles) and the Constitutional Convention Broadside Collection (21 titles) contain 274 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence." A wealth of materials from the rare book and manuscript collection of the Library of Congress.

National Constitution Day Center Site
Online exhibits and podcasts from the National Consitution Day center.

The Federalist Papers
While commercial, this About.com site contains the full text of the Federalist Papers, as well as commentary, related resources and discussion on the subject.

United States Senate Page on the Constitution
http://www.senate.gov/artandhistory/history/common/generic/ConstitutionDay.htm
A discussion on creation of Constitution Day.

Centuries of Citizenship: Timeline of the Constitution
"The Centuries of Citizenship: A Constitutional Timeline" is an online experience highlighting some of the key dates and events that mark more than 200 years of our constitutional history. These timeline entries, taken as a whole, tell the evolving story of the U.S. Constitution and the continuing role that it plays. You may view them in two formats, depending on the bandwidth your internet connection provides. This site was created by the National Constitution Center, an informational organization and museum whose main site provides extensive material on the U. S. Constitution and on contemporary constitutional issues.

Delegates to the Constitutional Convention
Part of the larger website of the National Archives, these pages provide biographies of America's Founding Fathers organized by State.

National Constitution Center
This is the website of the Constitutional Center, an interactive museum and non-partisan resource center. This web page features links to information from the museums changing exhibits. This website is maintained in part by the Annenberg Center for Education and Outreach

Educational Resources

Notice of Implementation of Constitution Day
Official document from the Federal Register.

Annenberg Classroom
A very user friendly site created by the Leonore Annenberg Institute for Civics. These pages on the Constitution feature multimedia civics programs to help students and citizens of all ages better understand the pillars of democracy. You can also visit the general Civics Pages here.

ERDSITEment - The Best of the Humanities on the Web
Developed by the National Endowment for the Humanities, this site "brings online humanities resources from some of the world's great museums, libraries, cultural institutions, and universities directly to your classroom." During September, the Constitution is features heavily.  Specific educational pages on the Constitution can be found here.

This site, sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, offers lesson plans searchable by topic and grade level, including:

Commemorating Constitution Day and Citizenship Day
U.S. Department of Education Constitution Day resources.

Teaching With Documents: Observing Constitution Day
The National Archives Digital Classroom.