Skip to main content
site header image

Guide

.

Federal Government Sites

Federal Government Resources

Government Resources links to federal and state agencies that collect, evaluate and publish statistics and other information on a wide variety of topics.

Agencies and Departments

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people offers a great deal of related information on its web site, including "Health Topics A to Z," health news for travelers, women, men and seniors, and reports on occupational health and injuries.

Central Intelligence Agency
A most useful part of this federal agency website is "The World Factbook 2000," found under "Publications and Reports." Profiles of all countries are included here, with information ranging from the countryÕs flag to its economy to its military.

Federal Bureau of Investigation
 Check out the "Ten Most Wanted" list, read up on major ongoing investigations, or enter the Electronic Reading Room to view scanned documents of now declassified information. Of major interest to Criminal Justice students will be the "Uniform Crime Reports" link, which leads to crime data collected from each state.

USA.Gov Portal
USA.gov was legislatively mandated through Section 204 of the E-Government Act of 2002. As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government. This site helps citizens connect to services, and providing the government and its employees with resources.  

Forms from the Feds
This site provides printable, downloadable government electronic forms.

United States Government Printing Office
Access to all branches of Government General Printing Office and other Government informational websites and pages, such as pages for the Code of Federal Regulations and Congress  are now available through this single United States Digital Access portal.  

The following are websites to various agencies.

Dept. of Agriculture                         Dept. of Commerce  Dept. of Defense                           
Dept. of Education Dept. of Energy Dept. of Health & Human Services
Dept. of the Interior Dept. of Justice Dept. of Labor
Dept. of State Dept. of Transportation Dept. of the Treasury
                                              United States Government - Office of
Homeland Security
 

 

President

United States Government - Office of the President -
The White House:  Policies, the President, news, appointments, history, the Library and more..

United States Government - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
This online service makes available material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, in hardcover printed volumes entitled The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. This hardcopy series includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and Bush, as well as President William J. Clinton.

Congress

Congressional Research Reports
While theCongressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Member of Congress, this site provides posted reports from its members. It aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990. Hosted by University of North Texas libraries, this site provides an easy to use search engine.

United States House of Representatives Home Page
Members, directory, operations and search engine.

United States Senate Home Page 
Members, directory, operations and search engine.

Supreme Court

United States Supreme Court
Official page of the US Supreme Court, the Legal Branch of the United States Governement.

United States Supreme Court - Opinions
Archived files

United States Supreme Court - Decisions
                                                                                                                                                                                                                            KCH 5/24/18

State Government

   Massachusetts State

 

 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
The official website of the Commonwealth, with links to publications, government services, and web pages of government officials.

MassBenchmarks Site
The UMass Donahue Institute's Economic and Public Policy Research unit works with faculty on all five campuses to produce high-level economic and public policy research. The results of this research are disseminated as free-standing research reports and through MassBenchmarks, the journal of the Massachusetts economy published in cooperation with the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston.

MassBenchmarks - Population Estimates
 

Massachusetts Benchmarks - State Data Center
The State Data Center (SDC) Program is one of the Census Bureau's longest and most successful partnerships. It is a cooperative program between the states and the Census Bureau that was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments

Massachusetts Government
The portal to the Massachusetts Governement.

Massachusetts Legal Answers  NEW!
Create an account on the secure website, then log in and post their legal questions.  Volunteer lawyers answer the questions through the same website.  There is no charge to use this service. People can access the site from anywhere that they have internet access, including smart phones.  All information is confidential

Find My Legislator
A terrific resource to locate the elected representatives who serve you.

Massachusetts State Laws - General Laws of the State of Massachusetts
Text of the General Laws organized by chapters. You can also search the General Laws at the related General Court Of The Commonwealth Of Massachusetts, http://www.state.ma.us/legis/laws/mgl/mgllink.htm The following cautionary warning is issued: "This is NOT the official version of the Massachusetts General Laws (MGL). While reasonable efforts have been made to assure the accuracy of the data provided, do not rely on this information without first checking an official edition of the MGL." The Jonathan Edwards Library maintains the up-to-date, hard-copies of the General Laws.

National Conference on State Legislatures
The NCSL web site provides personalized, comprehensive access for state legislators and legislative staff. Some of this site is accessible by public. Use the public access link.

Quick Facts on Massachusetts from the US Census
 

 

Government Statistics

American Factfinder   
earch, and map data from many Census Bureau sources: the 2000 and 1990 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the American Community Survey and the Census 2000 Dress Rehearsal

Bureau of the Census
As the web page says, this is "your source for social, demographic, and economic information." This site has its own search engine, making it quite easy to navigate.

Census State Data Centers
 Links provided here to each state data center. State data centers work in conjuction with the U.S. Census Bureau to collect and disseminate statistical information useful to business leaders, researchers, and the public.

National Center for Health Statistics
Information on all aspects of health and health care in the United States.

State and City Datasystems
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs

State and County Quickfacts
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography based on the 2000 Census.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Employment, unemployment, job safety, wages and earnings and productivity are just some of the subjects of these statistical studies. International

OECD, Statistics
Data from the European Economic Community.

US Census International Database
The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                       5/24/18- KCH